ALUS Elgin

ALUS planted its roots in Elgin County in 2012, beginning with a pilot project in Bayham Township.




ALUS planted its roots in Elgin County in 2012, beginning with a pilot project in Bayham Township. In January of 2016, ALUS Bayham expanded to include the Townships of Malahide, Central Elgin, Southwold, Dutton-Dunwich and West Elgin.

ALUS Elgin partners with each Conservation Authority and other organizations in the region to develop projects and ideas that are best suited to the landowners’ needs and the priorities of Elgin County.

Local environmental issues, including gully and bank erosion, are considered priorities for the ALUS Elgin program, which aims to reduce sedimentation and phosphorus loading in our rivers and lakes.

As much of Elgin County is now battling the invasive Phragmites australis, controlling this species is now a priority on all wetland creation sites.

ALUS Elgin PAC 2018
ALUS Elgin PAC, July 2018: Back, L to R: Drake Larsen (Secretary), Dan Brinkman (Lower Thames Valley Conservation Authority), Kevin Ferguson (Elgin Stewardship Council), Dave Depuydt (Ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry), Paul Gagnon (Long Point Region Conservation Authority). Front, L to R: Bill Vanzanten, Magda Donck, John Stewart (Chair), Alyssa Cousineau (Program Coordinator)

This post is also available in: Français (French)

News & Events in Elgin

A Taste of ALUS at Queen’s Park

Posted April 13, 2019 in Ontario

ALUS Canada and MPP Toby Barrett hosted a special reception at Queen’s Park on March 2019 in support of ALUS in Ontario.
Read More

It Takes a Village

Posted October 20, 2018 in Ontario

ALUS works closely with many organizations across Canada. In September, 2018, we celebrated collaboration in Ontario.
Read More

Sowing the Seeds of Conservation

Posted July 14, 2018 in Ontario

ALUS shows students how—and why—to collect native wildflower seed in their communities.
Read More

ALUS Ambassadors

Posted May 25, 2018 in Ontario

ALUS Elgin participants Stephen and Katie Hotchkiss are keen on integrating conservation projects in a profitable farm operation
Read More

Ontario Trillium Foundation invests in ALUS

Posted September 19, 2017 in Ontario

On September 19, 2017, ALUS Canada, Ontario Nature and guests celebrated a grant of nearly $700,000 from the Ontario Trillium Foundation to support ALUS in Ontario.
Read More

comunity logo


Long Point Region Conservation Authority
Catfish Creek Conservation Authority
Kettle Creek Conservation Authority
Lower Thames Valley Conservation Authority
Elgin Stewardship Council
Elgin Clean Water Program
National Farmers Union


Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources
NCP- National Conservation Plan
OTF- Ontario Trillium Foundation
OWF- Ontario Wildlife Foundation
The W. Garfield Weston Foundation

Stay Connected