ALUS Norfolk
Where Agriculture and Nature Meet

Norfolk County has the oldest continuously running ALUS program in Canada. Piloted in 2007, ALUS Norfolk has evolved into a permanent, county-wide program. 

With over 190 farm families already engaged and more than 1,600 acres enrolled in the program, ALUS-Norfolk is helping to rebuild the natural environment via healthy and sustainable farmlands.

To date, approximately ten percent of all the farmers in Norfolk have enrolled acres in ALUS,  to restore wetland habitat, plant tall-grass buffers along streams, and create pollinator habitat among other projects. The Long Point Region Conservation Authority provides technical advice and support to help implement a variety of habitat restoration projects throughout the County.

Community Links

News & Events

Participant Profile: Liz & Bruce Milner

Participant Profile: Liz & Bruce Milner

At the frog bowl, nature is art itself This painting shows a snowy winter scene with a red tail hawk flying overhead. Coyotes materialize out of the bull rushes within the frog bowl. The large reforestation project is also captured which includes 300 white pine, red...

Farmers Invest in Nature for Big Impact

Farmers Invest in Nature for Big Impact

A profile of ALUS Norfolk participants Leah & Marty VanTilMarty & Leah VanTil with their ALUS wetland in the background. Credit: ALUS Norfolk.Located in Port Dover, Ontario, Leah and Marty VanTil’s 40-acre farm includes rolling hills and shallow valleys....

ALUS Norfolk Team

Stephanie Giles (née Drayer)

Stephanie Giles (née Drayer)

Program Director

[email protected]

Cynthia Tosswill

Cynthia Tosswill

Outreach Coordinator

[email protected]

Cabella’s/Bass Pro Shop

Hydro One

Long Point Region Conservation Authority

The McLean Foundation


Allan’s Excavating

Norfolk County

Norview Gardens Ltd.

Vandenbussche Irrigation

Bird Studies Canada

Long Point Biosphere

Environment and Climate Change Canada

The Long Point Basin Land Trust

Ron Niville

Chris Verhoeve

Tom McDonald
Vice Chair

Joe Csoff

Chris Van Paassen

Cynthia Tosswill

Morgan Van Laeken

Kyle Hiebert

Kristyn Richardson

Samantha Sommer

Alyssa Cousineau

Luke Verhoeve

Rebecca Pearce-Cameron

Rick Csoff

Steve Buehner

Anita Buehner

Chloe Cridland

Cynthia Brink

Jordan Kett

Get in Touch

8 + 3 =